Change

September 2, 2012 § 4 Comments

Do you have a penny jar, or some other container in which you keep the spare change that accumulates around the house? Ours is a green and blue handmade pottery bowl that sits next to the phone on a little counter in the kitchen.

I wouldn’t describe coins or the bowl in which we keep them as extraneous stuff, except that the bowl is large enough that it holds a LOT of coinage, and anything else someone tosses in it. The bowl has been in that spot since shortly after we finished our kitchen remodel in 2006, and it had never been emptied (though I raided it for quarters occasionally) until Paul commented recently that it was getting too full. So earlier this week, I poured the coins into a small cookie tin (sorting out the screws and paperclips and buttons that had somehow sneaked into the bowl), and lugged them off to the coin counting machine in a nearby grocery store.

When the machine was done sorting (which sounded like a slot machine jackpot), it had counted: 26 quarters, 161 dimes, 74 nickels, and 1340 pennies. That’s 1601 coins, totaling $39.70. I was surprised; I hadn’t expected it to be so much!

I could have taken cash for a 9.8% fee, but I opted for a store gift for the full amount. Paul asked if I was going to get him a present with the gift card. Maybe I’ll get him a this cute piggy bank. It’s smaller than the bowl we use now, which means it would take less space on the counter, we’d have to exchange the coins more often, and I wouldn’t find screws mixed in with the pennies and nickels.. Those would all be good things.

§ 4 Responses to Change

  • TraceyS says:

    We have a small piggy bank to collect coins and “fees” the girls sometimes pay when they and act up. When it is full, they can decide what charity to donate the money to, and I match the funds. It also helps with the problem of loose change around the house – the kids routinely put found money in the Giving Pig (our name for it) without a second thought.

  • Caitlin says:

    I have an old-fashioned candy jar with a red plastic lid that my coins go into! When it’s full-ish, I take it to my hometown bank and deposit it to keep the account active since I rarely use it for anything else. Rainy day/emergency fund!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Change at Unstuffing.

meta